Google Places is new (sort of) and as such causes allot of people allot of headaches and to be honest with you Google's help section leaves allot to be desired, so I have compiled a list of the most common questions that I get surrounding Google Places Optimizationand the answers to them.
Edit google places listing:http://www.google.com/support/places/bin/static.py?page=guide.cs&guide=28247&topic=28287
To make edits to your business listing, log into Google Places. Your Dashboard will show all of the listings you have added.
In the business info column on the left side of the screen, you will see an “Edit” link underneath your business’s basic listing information. Click the Edit link to make changes.
This brings you to a page where you can edit information about your business, like address, photos, videos, custom attributes, and more! Your changes should appear almost instantly. IIf you wish to edit a listing that was uploaded as part of a bulk listing, visit the Places User Guide.
If you are a business owner, you can verify your business on Google so that only you can make edits to your listing.
If you're not the business owner, but still notice an error in a listing, you can use the Maps User Guide.
Google places listing rejected / flagged / pending:http://www.google.com/support/places/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=174542
Why is my listing being reviewed?
Your listing contains a term or other behavior that we monitor, so it has been automatically earmarked by our system for further review. This is a temporary state and is expected behavior for terms that require manual judgment.
Please note that this message previously discussed Flagged listings, but the message in Places account now appears as Pending Being reviewed. This article still applies despite the wording change in your account.
What happens when my listing is pending additional review?
When your listing is flagged, it is placed in a queue to be manually reviewed by a member of our team. While the listing is flagged, it will not show on Google. This is to ensure optimal content for our end users.
Once your listing is reviewed, its status will move from Pending to either Active (i.e. showing on Google) or Action Needed Rejected (i.e. not showing on Google). At this time, we do not proactively contact users once their flagged listings have been reviewed.
What do you monitor?
We monitor a variety of terms and formatting which may or may not be appropriate depending on their context. Because of their ambiguity, they require a manual review.
When can my listing be flagged?
Your listing may be flagged for further review any time it is edited (i.e. not just when it is first created).
How long will it take for my listing to be reviewed?
Review time is highly variable. New tickets are generally reviewed within 4 weeks.
Remove OR delete Google Places listing:http://www.google.com/support/places/bin/static.py?hl=en&page=guide.cs&guide=28247&topic=28306
You can either remove a listing from your Google Places account, or remove a listing from Google Maps. For more information, follow the instructions below.
Remove a listing from Google Maps or Google Places account
Under the “Actions” column for the listing you wish to remove, click Delete. From there you can choose between two options:
- Remove this listing from my Google Places Account: TIf you associated a listing with your account by mistake, you can remove it from your account by selecting this option. Verification isn't necessary. This listing may continue to display on Google, but it will no longer be associated with your account.
- Remove this listing from Google Maps: IThis will remove your owner-verified business listing from Google Maps. Some users might select this option if the business no longer exists or has moved. The listing will remain in your Google Places account, in case you’d like to add it again later.
- Please note: This only applies to listings that you have verified and added to your account.
Once you have made your selection, click Save Changes. If you chose to remove your listing from Google Maps, this should take place within a few hours.
Delete your unverified listing on Google Maps
In some cases, you may find your business is listed on Maps and you’d like to delete it, but you have not verified the listing. We find that users may want to delete these listings because the information is wrong, or the business has moved or gone out of business. Though you didn’t list this location, this information may have been pulled from third-party sources such as the Yellow Pages or Info USA. The best way to remove these listings is to click the more link in the business’ listing and click the Report a problem link. If you need additional help, check out Ways to correct business information.
Removing bulk listings
Removing bulk listings requires creating and uploading a deletion feed. Listings in a deletion feed will be removed from your Google Places account, but they will not be deleted from Google Maps. To delete a listing from Google Maps, you must first verify each individual listing, then delete it.
For more information about creating and uploading bulk listings, follow the instructions in the User Guide.
Merge google places listings:http://www.google.com/support/places/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=175290
Listings on Google are built from multiple sources of information, including third-party data, Google Places entries, and community edits. We analyze these sources and merge potentially related information into a single listing. Our aim is to ensure a high-quality, clutter-free experience for our end users.
Sometimes, though, it's tough for us to recognize two legitimate businesses with lots of similar information as separate establishments. To help avoid confusion, make sure your business information is unique. Here are some actions you can take to help differentiate your business:
- Use unique phone numbers for each location. Include the local office phone number rather than the corporate line, if possible. Having unique information is especially helpful for us if your locations are close to one another.
- Keep your business titles unique, short, and accurate. Not only will this ensure that you comply with our Google Places quality guidelines, but your listing will also be less likely to overlap with another listing and become merged.
- Ensure that your business location marker is accurate on Google. if you find that it is incorrect, you can fix it from your Google Places account.
If your business listing is merging with another business listing, you can tell us about this issue by using the Report a Problem link. If this link is not available in your country, please report the problem on the Known Issues page in our Help Center.
Transfer google places listing:http://www.google.com/support/places/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=17104
At this time, there's no way to transfer your Google Places listing from one account to another. If you plan to sell your business or transfer ownership of your listing, we suggest that you create a new listing under a new Google Places account. When possible, you'll want to delete the listing from the old account. Please keep in mind that the new listing will need to be re-verified within the new account.
If you want to change your account login, you can do this by visiting your Google Account settings. Click Edit for Email addresses to swap out your old email address for a new one.
Alternatively, consider signing up for Google Places using an email address you wouldn't mind sharing. That way, if you need to transfer ownership of your listing to someone else, he or she can use the same account.
Google Places account suspended / suspension:http://www.google.com/support/places/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=176520
Your account was suspended because you were found to be in violation of ourGoogle Places quality guidelines. Please review the guidelines for clarification.
If you believe you have made changes to your account such that you are no longer in violation of these policies, you may request a review of our decision.
If your account has violated our guidelines, it will not be re-included. If you'd like to maintain your business listing(s), consider creating a new account.